23 things: an introduction

Cambridge University libraries have just started running a course, 23 Things Cambridge, which aims to introduce librarians within the university, like myself, to some web 2.0 technologies. I have signed up for this course, and as part of my participation, will be blogging about some of the new technologies. What I want to do, however, is not just look at them from the point of view of an academic librarian, because that’s only part of my life. I’m also a researcher myself (on early medieval history), so I want to bring in the other side of the coin. How might I as a scholar use these technologies myself, and how might I react as a consumer to library services delivered via web 2.0 technologies? I hope this dual perspective may be useful in bridging the inevitable divide between ideal and reality in the search for the Academic Library 2.0.

One thought on “23 things: an introduction

Leave a Reply

